Northern Waters Library Service


About NWLS For Librarians For Patrons For Trustees

Databases

regional catalog

Merlin is the shared catalog of NWLS member libraries. With a library card patrons can directly request, renew, and can check the status of items either checked out or on hold.
Merlin Catalog

reference databases

Ancestry Library Edition is an extensive library genealogy research tool. Access is limited to in-library use at any NWLS library.
Ancestry Library Edition


AskAway is a virtual reference service to use when you need information. An online chat form connects to a qualified reference librarian any time of day, seven days a week.
AskAway


BadgerLink contains thousands of newspaper and periodical titles, image files, and other reference materials. EBSCO offers over 6,000 magazine and journal titles, over half of which are available in full-text. BadgerLink is available to everyone in Wisconsin without a password.
Badgerlink


Chilton Library offers a comprehensive vehicle repair database. Patrons can access this database at any NWLS library or at home. For more information, contact your nearest library.
Chilton Library

Page up

NetLibrary provides a collection of ebooks in the Merlin catalog that can be checked out and read on a home computer. Contact your nearest NWLS library to set up a free account. A featured list of ebooks is available from the Merlin homepage.
NetLibrary


OverDrive Audiobooks offers audiobook titles that can be downloaded directly to a computer, an MP3 player or burned to a CD. A valid Merlin card number is necessary for checkout and placing holds.
OverDrive

Page up

WISCAT is the Wisconsin library catalog that can be browsed when the Merlin catalog doesn't have what you're looking for. Contact a librarian to request from WISCAT.
WISCAT

Page up

WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library collections that includes more than 67 million bibliographic records with items in many different formats. Patrons can access this database at any library or at home with a user-friendly search page at http://www.worldcat.org/.
WorldCat

regional catalog:

Merlin

reference databases:

Ancestry Library

AskAway

Badgerlink

Chilton Library

NetLibrary

OverDrive

WISCAT

WorldCat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


© 2006 Northern Waters Library Service · 3200 East Lake Shore Drive · Ashland, Wisconsin 54806 · 715.682.2365

 

Home Libraries Search Home Libraries Search Site Index