Regional Catalog
Merlin is the shared catalog of NWLS member libraries. With a library card patrons can directly request, renew, and can check the status of items either checked out or on hold.
Reference Databases
Ancestry Library Edition is an extensive library genealogy research tool. Access is limited to in-library use at any NWLS library. Bookmarks are available. Ancestry Library Edition bookmarks as well as promotional and training materials are available.

page up
AskAway is a virtual reference service to use when you need information. An online chat form connects to a qualified reference librarian any time of day, seven days a week. Bookmarks are available.

BadgerLink* offers Wisconsin residents access to business, health, literature, magazine and newspaper resources, the majority of which are available in full-text. Promotional materials and an online support center are available for more information. If you are unable to access any BadgerLink database, log in using the Library Card Access page. The following databases are among the many resources available through Badgerlink:
- Auto Repair Reference Center - Repair manuals for most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
- Consumer Health Complete - Includes more than 200 health and wellness reference books and encyclopedias, thousands of health reports, drug evaluation sheets, videos, pamphlets and other documents.
- HeritageQuest - Research ancestors and historical sources dating back to the 1700s.
- MasterFILE Premier - A general reference database with nearly 1,700 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Accessed in BadgerLink's Database List.
- NoveList - A readers' advisory database with over 150,000 fiction titles, and over 4000 custom created articles and lists. Access Feature Articles, BookTalks, and Book Discussion Guides along with Author Read-alikes, Readers' Advisory training content and a variety of other reader materials.
- NoveList K-8 - A readers' advisory database for grades K-8 with collection of titles, BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists and more.
- TeachingBooks.net - Thousands of resources for k-12 multimedia fiction and nonfiction reading activities for educators, librarians, students and families supporting language arts, book clubs, art educators, social studies and much more.
*BadgerLink is a project of the Department of Public Instruction's Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning for the citizens of Wisconsin. Funding is provided through the Public Service Commission Universal Service Fund.
page up
New!
LearningExpress Library is a Learning Center for all ages. Educational skill-building courses are available for elementary students, high school students, college preparation, college students, and adults. To get started, click on Help to access the Help Center topics. To use the database please register for a free private account for your learning courses. A library card is not required for setting up an account at the library. When setting up an account from home, a library card number is required for the username. Use a password with at least six characters of your choice. Select Northern Waters Library Service as your library.

New!
Job & Career Accelerator offers resources including occupation practice tests, U.S. citizenship preparation, computer skills courses, job searching, resumes, and interviewing. To access Job & Career Accelerator, set up an account in LearningExpress Library by going into "new Users".
NetLibrary provides a collection of ebooks, such as reference, nonfiction and fiction books that can be checked out and read on a home computer. The titles available through NetLibrary are listed in the Merlin Catalog. Contact your nearest NWLS library to set up a free account. A featured list of ebooks is available from the Merlin homepage. NetLibrary also provides promotional materials and training tools.
page up
OverDrive offers audiobook, video and music titles that can be downloaded directly to a computer, an iPod or MP3 player or burned to a CD. A valid Merlin card number is necessary for checkout and placing holds.

WISCAT is the Wisconsin library catalog that can be browsed when the Merlin catalog doesn't have what you're looking for. Contact your librarian to request items from WISCAT.
page up
WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library collections that includes more than 67 million bibliographic records with items in many different formats. Patrons can access this database at any library or at home with a user-friendly search page.
| |
|