Trustee Meeting 2011.11.12

NWLS Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes
November 12, 2011

1.  Call to Order/Roll Call
Tuula Harris called the meeting to order at 11:59 a.m.

Present: Bill Bruen (Bayfield County), Jessie Burhans (Douglas County), Buzz Byrne (Burnett County), Joel Certa-Werner (Douglas County), Tuula Harris (Douglas County), Debbie Hohner (Iron County), Dee Kittleson (Bayfield County), Al Lundquist (Ashland County), Vivian Markley (Superior Public Library), Mary Platner (Vilas County), Deb Nordgren (Douglas County), Tom Thompson (Iron County), Jim Trojanowski (Director), Linda Stobbe (Office Manager).

Excused: Jim Basset (Sawyer County), Michael Bobin (Washburn County), Jamie Klema (Ashland County), Dan Gretz (Sawyer County), Shirley Harrison (Vilas County).

2.  Guest Comments

3.  Approval of the September 17, 2011 NWLS Board Meeting Minutes 
Motion by Al Lundquist, second by Dee Kittleson to approve the September 17, 2011 Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes.  Motion carried.

4.  Appointment of nominating committee for 2012 Officers.
Tuula Harris appointed Dee Kittleson, Mary Platner, and Vivian Markely to the nominating committee.  Tuula Harris asked that in the future appointment of the nominating committee take place in September and elections at the November meeting.

5.  September and October 2011 NWLS Expenditures
Motion by Buzz Byrne, second by Dee Kittleson to approve the September and October, 2011, NWLS expenditures.  Motion carried. 

6.  October, 2011 Financial Statement and Budget Report
Motion by Mary Platner, second by Jessie Burhans to approve the October, 2011, NWLS Financial Statement and Budget Report.  Motion carried.

7.  Amendment to the 2011 budget
Motion by Tom Thompson, second by Jessie Burhans to approve the 2011 budget amendment.  Motion carried.

8.  Financial Procedures Handbook Review 
Vivian Markley moved to approve the Financial Procedures Handbook, second by Al Lundquist.  Carried unanimously.

9.  Director’s Report
Jim discussed county funding of member libraries. 

10.  Executive Session as authorized by Wisconsin Statutes s.19.85 (1) c to write the Director’s evaluation.  
Motion by Jessie Burhans, second by Al Lundquist to move to closed session to discuss the Director’s evaluation.  Carried unanimously.

14. Adjourn
Motion by Vivian Markley, second by Mary Platner to adjourn.  Carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Trojanowski